Posted by: chrisdavis | May 26, 2012

The 2 Most Important Questions Parents Don’t Ask


One day, God appeared to a childless woman and told her she would conceive and give birth to a son. The Lord also told her that her son would have a specific purpose for his existence.

When the woman told this to her husband, he asked that the Lord would reappear to them both. When God did this, the man asked God two questions.

It has been my passion for years to get every parent to ask these same two questions.

The son was named Samson and it was his life-mission to deliver Israel from their mortal enemy, the Philistines.

The two questions Samson’s father asked God (even before his son was conceived) can be found in Judges 13:12. The English translation doesn’t provide the same emphasis found in the original Hebrew. Here is my interpretation of the father’s two questions found in this verse:

First question: “What will be the purpose of this child’s existence?”

Second question: “What is our responsibility in raising this child so he will fulfill that purpose?”

For years I have tried to express three truths I strongly believe:

1. God gives us each child He intends us to raise
2. We are to raise each child for a purpose which only God knows
3. If He knows who each child is to become, doesn’t it make sense to ask God the same two questions Samson’s father asked?

Please don’t be like most parents who, mainly from ignorance, fail to ask God these two questions. God is more interested in letting you in on why He created this child than you could possibly imagine!

Can we raise each child to go into the world equipped to fulfill his or her individual life purpose? We can if we know what God knows. We can if we believe He will tell us?

And, He will…

Responses

  1. I have asked the questions, then forgotten to ask. I have done well in some respects with my kids, and not so well in other respects. I thank God that He rules over it all, doing good things where I have failed.

    • He is definitely a faithful Father!

  2. Great, thought-provoking post, as always! I so appreciate what you have to say.

  3. Yes, yes, yes. Thanks for saying this — Really good.

    • Janis. From what I have seen of those He gave you, you definitely asked the right questions!

  4. Love it, thank you for the encouragement!

    • Dear Anon: You are welcome!

  5. Chris, the Lord brought you into our lives at a crucial time in our lives as homeschoolers. We did ask those questions after promptings from you and the Holy Spirit. I also remember coming to you then asking, “A dancer? What can God do with a dancer? How does one raise a dancer for the Kingdom?” and then later, “A baseball player? What can God do with a baseball player?” Yet here we are 11 years later… they are still pursuing these passions and GOD has opened them up for so many crazy opportunities! Tobi has just finished a 1 year dance ministry intensive at Hillsong in AU…she went with a passion and came home with a heart for the Kingdom. Waiting to see what the Father does with all of this!!!

    • Yes, Christine, you have raised two amazing young people. They are a blessing to me whenever I hear what they are doing.

  6. I just couldn’t leave your website prior to suggesting that
    I actually loved the usual info a person supply in your guests?
    Is gonna be back steadily to investigate cross-check new posts

  7. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation
    but I find this topic to be really something that I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complex and
    very broad for me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    • Dear Mobile Games. Please let me know how I might clarify what I am saying…

  8. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your
    weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see
    a great blog like this one these days.

    • Thanks, watch chef. This is a free WP theme I put together myself. Very simple.

  9. These are actually fantastic ideas in about blogging. You have touched some
    fastidious factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

