Posted by: chrisdavis | May 3, 2011

Who said “They grow up so fast”?


When my boys were young, I was often told, “Enjoy them now. They grow up way too fast.”

My response was always, “Yeah, yeah. I know” (I didn’t actually say this, of course; but I thought it).

Most parents of young children think of childhood as lasting into the foggy, dim and distant future. In other words, we have lots of time to raise, and educate, these kids. Right?

Not true, as parents of grown children know all too well.

God could have made us able to become proficient in our areas of giftings and callings in a short period of time. He didn’t. I don’t know why He didn’t. One thing we do know is that it takes many years to achieve proficiency in just about anything worthwhile.

Bummer for the public schooled child, because public school steals the lion’s share of time the child needs to become proficient in the areas of his/her God-given giftings and callings.

What does public school offer children in place of the time the child should be spending becoming proficient in his/her giftings and callings? Answer: All the things you and I have forgotten since we left school.

Our choice is simple: Make our children learn what the public school requires or give our children the time they need to become proficient in their giftings and callings and use the time left over for them to learn what they won’t forget (because it wasn’t important and never has been).

Responses

  1. I have been wondering when you were going to post something. I look forward to your insights.

  2. Thank you, Cindy. I am currently representing a college in Israel and it is taking up a lot of my time. I will be spending several weeks in Israel beginning June 1, so may not have much time to write here. We’ll see…Thanks for the encouragement.

  3. It sounds like you are having a wonderful time–enjoy!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

