Posted by: chrisdavis | March 24, 2011

Quotes that encoureged us


Even more of our favorite quotes that helped us stay encouraged as we kept our children from public school to raise them at home:

“The most fundamental political question is, ‘Who gets to teach the children?’.”–Plato [You can imagine why we responded with a resounding, “If this is really a political question, we say, ‘Definitely not the government!'”].

“Nothing in education is so astonishing as the amount of ignorance it accumulates.”–Henry Adams, author, grandson of President John Quincy Adams & great-grandson of President John Adams.

“Little substantive learning takes place in our schools as they are now organized,”–Adam Robinson, author of What Smart Students Know

“I am always ready to learn but I do not always like being taught.”–Winston Churchill

“I believe in teaching, but I don’t believe in going to school.”–Robert Frost

“I never let schooling interfere with my education.”–Mark Twain

“For every person wishing to teach, there are thirty not wanting to learn.”–W. C. Sellar, educator & author of 1066 and All That

“Nothing that is worth knowing can be taught.”–Oscar Wilde

“The one goal of education is to leave a person asking questions.”–Max Beerhohm, author

“Education is not the filling of a bucket, but the lighting of a fire.”–William Butler Yeats, 19th century poet

“You cannot teach a person anything; you can only help him find it within himself.”–Galileo

“Don’t ask yourself what the world needs, ask yourself what makes you come alive, and go do that, because what the world needs is people who have come alive.”–Gil Bailie, author

“God has created us and our gifts for a place of His choosing and we will only be ourselves when we are finally there.”–Os Guinness, author

Responses

  1. I came across this page by searching for the quote by Plato, “The most fundamental political question is, ‘Who gets to teach the children?’.” I had just wanted to affirm the authorship but I was blessed by finding so much more than what I was seeking.

    • Anon: I apologize for taking so long to respond, but I have been out of the country for some time (Israel). I read the quote ascribed to Plato so many years ago, I cannot remember where I read it. Sorry to disappoint…Chris


Leave a Reply

Categories

