Posted by: chrisdavis | October 29, 2008

What are you doing now?


OK, so you’ve asked that I get current. Since everything is still up in the air, I haven’t wanted to say anything until there is something to say. But, since everyone keeps asking, “What are you up to now?” here is what I’m up to now…

First, right after I arrived from Israel, I dealt with my usual jet lag which kept me in a fog for a week. My brain arrived in pieces until I finally had it all together (some of you who have talked to me since I returned might disagree that I have it all together even now).

Then, I got the cold of the century which lasted another week. Cough, cough, snort.

During all this time I have been dealing with contracts from China, all of which I have rejected and requests from other parts of the world (all of which I’ve responded to but have heard nothing back from any of them).

In the meantime I responded to an ad from a company hiring people to help restore the schools in Katrina-ravaged New Orleans. The ad said, in effect, “The main goal of teachers is to raise student’s academic achievement to their highest possible levels. How would you go about accomplishing this?” My response began, “To begin with, I completely disagree that raising student’s academic achievement to their highest possible levels is the main goal of teachers.” Then I went on to wax eloquent on what I thought a teacher’s real goals are. Although I felt really good when I sent off my reply, I was certain I would never hear back. Well, the very next day I received an email: “Congratulations…” They must be really desperate! But, the immediate out-of-pocket expense of joining their program was too great and I turned them down.

Then I received a serious offer from a school in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. We are still communicating even as I write this but I don’t know how it will turn out (see below).

I finally had to ask myself, “Do I believe my time and my relationships in Israel have come to an end?” If so, then I can accept a 12 month contract that would mean I will not be able to go to Israel and lead tours next year. However, if I think I am supposed to go to Israel next year, I should find work that will free me during the summer and in December (when I have tours planned for 2009).

So, what have I decided to do? I am currently applying for a job in Knoxville as a substitute teacher from now until the end of the school year in June. My orientation for this job is tomorrow in Knoxville.

I have also responded to an ad for a teacher, “Needed IMMEDIATELY in Cairo, Egypt”. As I read the ad, immediately seems to mean “can you be here next week?” I do think I could be there next week and told them so.

You can see why I haven’t written anything on this blog. Perhaps I will have something more to say in a day or two. Until then, prayers are solicited…

Responses

  1. Chris,

    Since you are still here, be sure to get out and vote! We will be glad to hear how this all turns out – your next steps and our next president!

    Blessings from Michigan!

    Valerie and fam


Leave a Reply

Categories

