Posted by: chrisdavis | August 12, 2008

Waiting


If you want to begin a journey that moves you further and further from God’s best for you, then let greed or fear determine the important decisions in your life.

“…whoever wishes to be a friend with the world, makes himself an enemy of God.”–James 4:4

Last night the next door neighbor brought over a bunch of grapes that grow on the deck of his apartment. I’ve never seen such big grapes or such juicy ones, either.

I am waiting. I like to be occupied, so waiting isn’t as easy for me as working. Don’t get me wrong, I am in a good place and am excited about the future. I am just waiting to hear from some of the places I’ve sent my resume or spoken to the places in person.

I would like to lead the tour that is set for the first 3 weeks of September. However, if I’m asked to work at a school, I probably will need to begin teaching around the first of September when most schools begin.

If nothing comes of anything I’ve sent out, then I’m left with two options as far as I can tell: First, to return to Tennessee and find work there; or, second, to stay in Israel and simply see what happens.

For some reason, I don’t feel that I am supposed to stay in Israel beyond the end of September. So, I am waiting to see what else the Lord may have in mind.

It is now Tuesday morning and, on my walk I took this picture of a new apartment building about a mile from where I live. Notice the color of the stone that faces the building. In Jerusalem it is against the law to build a structure that is not faced with that cream-colored/pinkish stone called Jerusalem Stone. This is a problem for me because the architecture of all the buildings here is very similar–and with everything being the same color–every neighborhood looks the same to me. It’s hard for me to recognize differences in the various areas of the city as I try to figure out where I am or where I’m going.

About one hundred yards down the street from the new apartment is this view. Wherever there are not buildings going up (and there are buildings going up everywhere), there is desert. I walked just a few yards further along and saw this Arab boy shepherding a bunch of goats through the briers. Before the time of the deportation of the Jews from this land, goats were not allowed in Israel because they destroyed everything in site and, basically, deforested the country.

Across the valley from where the goats were being shepherded is a common site in Israel: a series of burial caves from a long time ago (they are in the center of the picture). These caves dot the countryside and are now used by shepherds to take a nap during the heat of the day. Here is one Bible-era burial cave that our group came across a couple of weeks ago. The round stone has been fastened to the ground so someone won’t take away to use it for some other purpose.

“Without faith it is impossible to please God for he who comes to God must believe that He exists, and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.“–Hebrews 11:6


Leave a Reply

Categories

