Posted by: chrisdavis | June 19, 2008

In California


I arrived at Seth’s apartment in Calif this morning at 3:30AM my time. A long trip. It’s now about 6PM on Wed evening and the guys are planning a big party tonight. Lots of people with the girls preparing the food. Seth has three roommates. One is married and visiting the church here for a conference. The other two are single,  like Seth. This is a big singles town and they party a lot.

I will probably not be able to keep up tonight since I’m soooo tired: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Well, it’s official. I’ve paid for my ticket and, unless something happens which I’m not expecting, I fly to Israel on July 10th and arrive 36 hours later at 3AM Saturday morning the 12th.

The school in Cairo has asked me to write my philosophy of education and I did that today. I’ll send it off as soon as I finish writing this. I’ve decided to be totally honest and not pull any punches. If they don’t like what I write, too bad. I believe that, for most young people, public (and most private) education is close to child abuse. That doesn’t mean all schools have to be that way. There have to be some that actually try to prepare individuals for their futures. I may never hear from this school again. I’ll let you know.

Seth has just returned from tennis and a dip in the pool. It’s a tough life, but I guess someone has to do it.

Will write later. People are arriving for the party. Whoopie…

Responses

  1. Well, the Lodes are woo-hooing from over here in middle Tn. Did you hear the shouting?

    We are so excited over the new adventures the Lord has for you.

    And your blunt appraisal of the government and many private schools….hilarious. We couldn’t agree more.

    We’ll be praying for you.

  2. So, what are the Lode’s doing these days? Give me an update. Blake is looking for a reason to move to Nashville if he can find a Producer to become his assistant.

  3. Well, send the dear boy over to us! Of course, it might be a little crowded in our 27’trailer. 😉

    Seriously, we’re still around…not sure when we’re heading out west so we may find a rental so our travels have a home base. (And a better footing for our business growth.)

    Golly…if Blake came to Nashville there are enough connections around here that I’m sure he’d find something. We’ve been here short of three years and I’m amazed at the folks we met.

    When we’re back in a house, he’s more than welcome to stay with us so he can hunt. We’ll miss you while you’re off in Israel so we’ll just have to adopt your boy. 😉

  4. I am loving your evaluation of schools…Classic Chris!

    I have to check in to your blog MUCH more frequently – not just when you are on the road.

    Valerie


Leave a Reply

Categories

