Posted by: chrisdavis | November 19, 2007

So, now I’m finally “Certifiable”.


The teacher told us it would be a grueling 60 hours. And it was! One of the women in the class ended up in the hospital last night and one of the men and I both ended up fighting sinus infections as we came down to the wire.

Tonight was the last class of a 3-weekend course to certify us to teach English as a second language. I should now be able to get a job just about anywhere in the world to teach English (translate: to take Jesus anywhere in the world). I am wiped out but, at least, I am certified! I must say that it’s a nice-looking certificate, too.

Unfortunately, the course’s teacher was either very lazy or just didn’t know how to teach teachers. On the first day of class I asked him, “What percentage of time did you enter a class with a lesson plan and what percentage of time did you enter a class knowing you were going to ‘wing it’? His response was, “My time is too valuable to do anything I am not paid to do, so if I’m not paid to prepare, I don’t. So the percentage of time I ‘wing it’ is about 90%”. Right then, I should have been clued in to how he would “teach”! (Dirk, if you’re reading this, I’m sorry, buddy, but you COULD have made the course really amazing if you had simply spent time modeling for us what it looks like to present each kind of communication skill to the various levels of student ability. We all were literate and could have read the book on our own).

But, it’s done and, as I said, I’m worn out. I plan to sit on this certificate for awhile and ask the Lord what He wants me to do with it. My sister (who has 25 years experience as an ESL teacher) has suggested the two of us open an ESL school out west, somewhere).

Other than that, everything else is fine. For the last year and a half I have enjoyed being by myself. I have learned a lot about myself. I have never been closer to the Lord than I am now. A lot of things I used to think were true (especially about myself) I no longer think are true.

One thing has changed: I no longer enjoy being by myself as much as I used to. I take this to mean that the Lord is preparing me for something new.

I’ve run out of things to say and my brain has turned to Jello as this sinus infection says, “Eat something and go to bed!”

I obey…

Leave a Reply

Categories

