Posted by: chrisdavis | October 22, 2006

Final post


A beautiful last day in Israel. Warm sun and cold breeze.

Walked the three blocks up the street to the Haas Promenade to get a final look at the city and say “goodbye”. Then I bought my final Israeli chocolate ice cream bar and ate a lunch of one last humus sandwich (all the yummy things that I can’t find in Tennessee).

Spent most of the day hanging around and relaxing. Scott was off helping someone fix her broken shutters, so Theresa and I watched the movie, Princess Diary. I had never seen it and enjoyed it a lot. A good laugh (and a little tear, too).

When Yossi drove me to Jerusalem Thursday night, we spent over two hours talking about the difference between Judaism and Christianity. Yossi brought up the subject and had a lot of questions. I told him it meant a lot to me that he should want to know these things. In my opinion, friendship is based on three things: trust, a real desire to know the other person at their deepest level and, of course, a natural desire to spend time together. Although I have spent years trying to get to know Yossi and Danny by asking them a thousand questions, neither of them has ever asked about my relationship with the Lord, which is my most basic “driver”. So, the questions Yossi was asking me allowed me to share what I believed and why, and why those things mattered. I have no desire to evangelize Yossi at all. But, we did talk about some really deep issues and his questions were very probing.

Scott returned and he and Theresa and I took one last drive east from Jerusalem to Jericho, which is the world’s oldest continually inhabited town and is also located in the lowest place on earth. It was after dark, or I would have taken some pictures. It was pretty at night. Then we stopped at a little roadside cafe for a final dinner.

Right now it’s 9:30PM and my plane leaves at 4:30 tomorrow morning. I have to be at the airport at midnight due to the security in this country. By this time tomorrow night, I’ll be back in Tennessee after a very interesting 3 months. Someday I may be able to digest all that I’ve learned.

Thanks to all of you who have shown an interest in my continuing to write. You can probably tell that I’ve enjoyed doing it. I hope it’s been worthwhile from time to time. I look forward to seeing some of you very soon.

In Him,

Chris

Responses

  1. We have enjoyed your sharing and photos. Thanks for taking the time to let us share this adventure with you.

    See you soon.

    Love,

    Deb and Phil

  2. Can’t wait to see you and hear more details! May God extend “traveling mercies,” especially the ability to get some sleep during your flight! Nancy

  3. Thanks Chris, for helping us to “see” Israel through your eyes. Thanks for being willing and happy to go when sensible folks like us would stay in “safe” America. This blog has been a blessing! Keep us posted with the “what’s next?” of your life!

    The McDaniels in Miami


Leave a Reply

Categories

