Posted by: chrisdavis | September 26, 2006

The Ramparts


Saturday morning I was finally able to get a really hazy picture from my balcony of the Mountains of Moab, on the other side of the Dead Sea, in Jordan. You can see them if you look hard.

Saturday was the Jewish New Year and I decided to take a walk in the Old City. I knew nothing Jewish would be open, but that didn’t matter. All the Arab sections would be open and I would just wander around for a few hours.

One thing I’ve always wanted to do was walk the Ramparts, this means walking around the city of Jerusalem from on top of its walls. I have heard others tell of this experience and how different it is to see the city from the Ramparts, but I’ve never been able to get up there. I guess I’ve tried dozens of times, but the gate to the Ramparts has always been locked.

Well, I assumed the gate would be locked on the Jewish New Year, but decided to take a look, anyway. Lo, and behold, the gate was open! So, I was able to walk the Ramparts of the City and look into the City from its walls.

This was a different perspective than I’d ever seen. From the Ramparts, you look out over all the rooftops of Jerusalem. This picture reminds me of the movie, Mary Poppins, and the song about being on “the rooftops of London.” Notice the Golden Dome peaking out from underneath on the very left.

As I walked the walls, I could take pictures of the Garden of Gethsemane, which is the little patch of green to the left of the church with the painted front, also the Mount of Olives with its thousands of graves, on the same hillside as Gethsemane. I saw these cute kids on their balcony, standing behind the laundry and just had to take their picture. Also, from the walls you can see Golgotha and the Garden Tomb (sorry, no picture).

It was a neat experience and I was reminded of the scripture in which God says, “I have set watchmen on your walls, O Jerusalem.”

Left the wall and found myself on the Via Delorosa (way of the cross) where I entered the area where the pool of Bethsaida was located (remember Jesus healing the paralyzed man who couldn’t get into the water in time to be healed?). This was the pool.

Then I went to the Western Wall again and, as I left, took this picture which I thought was pretty.

The sun was setting and it was getting chilly, so I took a taxi to the other side of the valley where my apartment is located. Tomorrow night, as soon as the buses are running again, I will travel back to Ma’ale Levona to help Danny and Yossi.

My last month begins…

Note to the Newbolds: Yossi said he will be able to supply us with wine from the grapes we planted last year. Can’t wait!

Responses

  1. Your pictures are awesome. I loved seeing the perspective from the Ramparts. And wine? Couldn’t be from the vines we planted, could it? Won’t it take a few years for them to bear fruit? Or is he talking about wine he expects to make in a few years? Whatever–it sounds great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

