Posted by: chrisdavis | September 10, 2006

Sunday


Woke up early this morning expecting to jump out of bed with no back pain. Instead I rolled out of bed, worked my way down the stairs for a cup of coffee and then crawled back into the sack. At about 8:15 my bed began to quiver (the only word I can think of to describe the feeling). A 5.0 earthquake was in progress in the Jordan Valley near Jericho (a few miles due east of us, as the crow flies). I’ve since heard that people near Jericho had their furniture rearranged and things knocked off shelves.

A fault-line runs up the Jordan River Valley. An earthquake along this fault-line is thought to have created the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah during Abraham’s time as well as having created the Dead Sea. Here is a statement from Archaeology Today:

Two geologists think they know how the infamous biblical cities of Sodom and Gomorrah were destroyed. Graham Harris and Tony Beardow argue in the Quarterly Journal of Engineering Geology that the land near the Dead Sea on which the cities may have stood literally liquefied in an earthquake, swallowing them up ca. 1900 B.C. 

An interesting way to wake up!

I was fed up with not being able to move around, so I decided to get dressed and take the bus downtown and walk off the back pain. I had things I needed to do, anyway, and I was too stubborn to stay home.

The bus ride was almost all I could stand with its sharp turns and bumps. But, I made it downtown. I shuffled my way to the post office and to the money exchange place. I must have looked like a very old man moving very slowly. I sure could have used a walker, maybe even one of Craig’s lift-walkers.

Had decided to get a much needed haircut. I have been looking everywhere for a barber shop since coming here, and just last week had passed one downtown. So, this was the day. I entered the tiny shop and the old barber asked if I had an appointment. “Do I need one?” I asked. “Yes, but if you want to wait, I can fit you in.” I waited about 3/4 of an hour. When I tried to get up from the chair where I was waiting, he had to help me into the barber chair. The old guy had to catch me or I would have fallen on my face. I felt really gimpy.

But, now I’ve had my first Israeli hair cut and I think I’ll stay here until my hair (such as I used to have) grows back. Actually, it’s not TOO bad.

I am going to a Bat Mitzva in Ma’ale Levona Thursday night so I shuffled around town looking for a Bat Mitzva card. I finally found one and by this time was really hungry. I’ve lost 10 pounds since coming here, so decided I’d better pay more attention to my stomach. Ate a wonderful shawarma (what will I do when I can’t get shawarmas and humus in Tennessee?). By then, I was pretty tired. The plan to walk off the pain wasn’t working, so I decided to go home and lie down, which I did.

Danny will pick me up tomorrow and I’ll spend the next few days in Ma’ale Levona. Have begun working on Yossi’s book again. This time I think I can do what he wants done. I’ll spend some time with him when I get to Ma’ale Levona and we’ll see.

Take care and send me some home-town news. Miss you all. Chris

Responses

  1. Howdy Chris!

    I hope your back gets better quickly. Everyone in the box office very much enjoys reading your blog. Everyone checks it every day they work. We are still at Katy, Mandy, Mike, Meka and myself. So far it has worked out fairly well. Meka started college. Josh has started dance class and is taking an acting class that starts this week. He is doing very well in school. No real news. Sometimes thats good. Take care of yourself, our thought are with you.

    Laura

  2. It sounds like you got your money’s worth with your short hair cut. I gave Phil a haircut this weekend. It was a good one and it makes up for the too short version that I did several weeks ago.
    May the Lord touch your back with healing, give wellness to your whole man, and deliverance for your body, soul, and spirit. May He make your weakness into His strength.

    Love,
    Deb and Phil

  3. Hey Chris,

    Things here are going good. They are installing the new carpet in the lobby as I am writing to you. It is looking good. We are still discussing new tix software-a decision should be made by the 1st of October with who or whom (not sure) they are going with. The girls have started dance and they are loving it. Brianna got baptized Sunday down at the creek, PTL! The state has filed a petition to terminate parental rights and we go to court Oct 11. Keep us in your prayers and we’ll do the same.

    Katybug

    In every thing give thanks…
    1 Thessalonians 5:18


Leave a Reply

Categories

